What you need to know to get a Florida Restricted License after a DUI.
After a DUI, you can challenge the suspension of your license. However, if that is unsuccessful, you may apply for a Florida Hardship License. In St. Petersburg, it is very hard to operate without a car. So, losing your license as a result of a DUI arrest can affect your entire family.
What is a Florida Hardship License?
If your driver’s license is suspended after a DUI arrest, you can apply for a Florida Hardship License, which allows for certain restricted driving activities. There are two types of hardship licenses.
Business Hardship License
A business hardship license restricts a person’s driving to activity associated with your livelihood. This may include driving to and from work, driving necessary for work, to and from church as well as medical visits.
Employment Hardship License
Employment hardship license restricts a person’s driving to work related driving only.
How do I apply for a Florida Hardship License?
If you have been arrested for a DUI, it will be important to know if you are eligible to apply for a hardship license or not. The criminal law team at the law offices of William B. Bennett, P.A. can guide you through this process. Contact us if you need help.
There are a few steps required to apply for a Florida Hardship License after a person has been arrested for a DUI:
- Enroll in a DUI school. There are several class options in Pinellas County.
- Bring your proof of enrollment to the offices of Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. An application for your license must be completed along with a $12 filing fee.
- Obtain an actual driver’s license at the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Am I eligible for a hardship license?
There are a few instances where an individual is NOT eligible to apply for a Florida Hardship License.
- If a person has refused a breath test two or more times or if a person has been convicted of a DUI two or more times, Florida Law will not allow a hardship license.
- Any driver convicted of a DUI involving serious bodily injury.
- Drivers charged or convicted of vehicular manslaughter.
- Drivers who lost their commercial driver’s license (CDL) are not eligible for a hardship license to operate a commercial vehicle.
Hardship license hearings
The office of Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will process the application and that person will need to attend a hearing at their office. The hearings are on a first come, first served basis. Early arrival is recommended. At the hearing an officer will determine if you actually need a hardship license.
At the hearing, the FLHSMV office will determine the types of restrictions allowed. If the office approves your application, you will need to provide an approval letter to the DMV in order to obtain your driver’s license.
Having a driver’s license suspended can take its toll. We can help you with each step of the process call us at (727) 821-8000 today.
How much does it cost to reinstate my license after a DUI?
At the DMV, a person will need to retake their driver’s exam, pay a $130 administrative fee, a $45 reinstatement fee and any other license fees required. The applicant will need to provide proof of insurance at the time of the arrest and proof of current coverage.
You may also be required to pay additional court costs and license fees depending on the nature of your offense. A schedule of fees can be reviewed here.
Let Us Guide You Through Your Hearings
A person only has one chance to apply for a Florida Hardship License. If they are not approved, they will have to serve out the suspension time. The process of getting a hardship license can be incredibly confusing and overwhelming.
The Law Office of William B. Bennett is highly familiar with laws, forms and legal requirements needed to successfully apply for a hardship license. We have helped many clients apply for theirs and can help navigate the process to get approved after a DUI.
If you have been arrested for a DUI, let us help. Call us at (727) 821-8000 today or contact us online here.